Allotment Sprayed with Weedkiller – How to prepare

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Allotment Sprayed with Weedkiller – How to prepare

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Cleansweep 4 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

“E”

Hello!

Complete and utter novice here, I’ve just picked up my first allotment plot, and have discovered the Allotment Association have already sprayed the plot thoroughly with weedkiller. I’m determined to try the no-dig method, but I’m not sure how to start from here.

Do I need to wait for the weeds that have been sprayed to die, and pull them up, before covering it over with a thick layer of compost?

Or can I just proceed as usual?

I’ve attached an image of the plot, you can see where all the weeds have started to brown.

Sorry if this has already been covered elsewhere, I just couldn’t find it when I had a look.

Any advice really appreciated 🙂

Gwynleg
    Participant

Hi gembeb, thats a shame! I think there are two ways of going at this. One would be to wait for the weed killer to do its job and for that you will need the sunshine I think. Then you could just clear the weeds away. However, if you want to do no dig, you will be putting compost on anyway, probably with a cardboard base to stop the weeds coming through, so you could go ahead this way and start planting things into it.

My concern would be the weed killer and whether it has a residue that would get into your vegetables. I prefer to grow organically but you haven’t really been given a choice here!

Someone else might come along with some advice about the weed killer…

“E”

Yes that’s my worry, I feel like leaving the weedkiller and contaminated weeds in the compost to mingle with my new plants and veggies as they grow down could be bad, I’m not actually sure how long the weedkiller is active for.