Can you plant more of the same vegetable in the same space after first harvest?

Community Community General Gardening Vegetables Can you plant more of the same vegetable in the same space after first harvest?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  charles 5 years ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

ThePlumpkinPatch
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m very new to vegetable gardening – this is my first time growing my own produce in my back garden and I’ve been reading Charles’ books and watching all of his Youtube videos!

I have only four raised beds, so plan to grow small quantities of lots of different things in each bed.

Something I’m unclear about is if crop rotation needs to happen a year later, or throughout the season. E.g, one bed will be dedicated to lettuce, spinach, spring onions and chard. When my spinach needs replacing 14 weeks after sowing, can I put more spinach in those exact same rows, or do I need to put a completely different vegetable in there?

I hope that makes sense – I couldn’t find a clear answer on this but do understand that year by year, it’s a good idea to switch things around.

Cleansweep
    Participant

Yes ,
    you could but,
    it might be better to start another planting elsewhere before hand to give continuity of supply. There are only a few crops which will reach maturity more than once in a growing season, radish definately, spinach possibly, but mid season plantings often go strait to seed.
    The principal of rotation year upon year is to avoid any pest or disease that a particular crop may be susceptable to, being already present when you plant out. Repeated growing in one place may deplete minerals necessary for that crop.These are technical considerations which may be heeded, but realistically, they should not be given too much influence on your choices. Treat them as ‘fine tuning’ once you succeed in general crop production.