charcoal

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Roger Brook 10 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

HMT

I am wondering if it would be possible to use ordinary barbecue charcoal, smashed up a bit and soaked in comfrey and liquid seaweed as I have no access to charcoal finings? Having read about the S American charcoal pits and the fertility of the soil there I would like to experiment on my allotment. I have been adding as much organic matter to it as I can for the last 12 years but I think it had mainly been fertilised with growmore before that and there are still areas where the soil is not hugely productive. A few years ago I inadvertantly spread a lot of horse manure contaminated with weed killer with disastrous results so that is now a nono and I cannot produce enough compost myself to cover all the beds. My local council will not supply the compost they make – no idea what they do with it but they say it has not been tested.
    Would be grateful for your thoughts on this
    HMT

charles

Charcoal is a hot topic, simmering nicely, intimate with global warming issues! So last autumn I made three beds, two with charcoal (one on top and one with charcoal incorporated) and one bed with manure instead of charcoal.

At first this spring there was little difference in growth but now the bed with no charcoal is looking more abundant. The charcoal beds are fine and similar in growth, but with smaller plants. It looks like the charcoal has no especial store of nutrients itself but I think it is more a long term idea, that it conserves nutrinents which may otherwise leach, though there is no particular evidence for this, more a surmise from the Terra Preta soils of the Amazon. 

It looks to me like adding charcoal is not like adding manure and compost, it is more about soil structure, air and root development. Worth using for long term soil quality.

peat
    Participant