New allotment – advice needed for raised beds

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground New allotment – advice needed for raised beds

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  charles 5 years ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

elenorwalsh
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m completely new to gardening and have recently got hold of an allotment, which was pretty messy and covered with weeds. I’ve been reading about the no dig method and have made a plan for the year ahead and want to put in some raised beds.
    Because of the amount of weeds on the allotment, what is the best way to prepare the ground? Should I dig them out, put down cardboard and then fill the raised bed with compost? Any advice is most welcome!! Thanks in advance

Cleansweep
    Participant

First, clear away any debris, broken glass, bricks, bicycle frames, scrap plastic etc.
    Survey the covering vegetation. Mark out any thing of value-fruit bushes, raspberry canes just emerging. Ask your neighbour if there might be asparagus.
    Try and establish whether you have just
    a)annual weeds and grasses, or
    b)whether its really neglected, with nettles/docks/small trees,couch grass, ground elder, bindweed, marestail.(potatoes,carrots,
    Initially find (four) areas which could be described as a)
    these could be hoed or mown, covered in cardboard then compost and planted. This would be a start for this season. Four areas ideally. 1 each for (according to your requirements)
    leaves(salads, spinach,chard etc)
    roots (potatoes,carrots, onions,turnips,radish etc
    legumes(beans,peas, perhaps sweet corn
    fruit (courgettes, melons,tomatoes, cucumbers etc
    Once these are established ,but not necessarily yet planted because of frost , you can look to gradually reclaim areas identified as ” b).”
    If you have time , you could mow these early to restrict them seeding, and keep them in check.