Propagating benches

Community Community General Gardening Sowing and Growing Propagating benches

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  charles 13 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Hello,

I’m a bit of a novice at using propagating benches, so this might be a daft question… I’ve recently tried building a bench out of reclaimed scaffolding boards, and filled it with sand. I’m also using Parasene heating cable and a Parasene thermostat.
    I was wondering if anybody had advice on how damp to keep the sand?
    Any other tips or advice would also be useful.
    Thanks in advance.

JP.

charles

Welcome Johnny

Your bench sounds good. Yes the sand is best kept moist, to spread the warmth and prevent cables overheating. Water it gently until drips come out of the bottom, before switching on. Some drainage holes are needed at the bottom. Sometimes it is worth lifting trays and pots to check they are not drier underneath than they look on top, in which case water well, also water the sand if ever the electricity is on and no pots or trays are sitting on it.

Hello Charles,

Thanks for the tips. Interestingly, Parasene themselves recommended ‘a light misting’, which didn’t sound quite right…
    I’ve had it going for a few days now, and it’s already carrying cabbage, cauliflower, radish and lettuce seedlings… and waiting for some onion varieties to appear… so, fingers crossed!
    On a slightly different tack then, with our radishes, we’re trying several to a module – about three or four, roughly – and we’re planning on transplanting them without thinning them out, and harvesting them one at a time, starting with the largest. You’ve mentioned previously about trying this kind of thing with beetroot, I think, and that sounded like a great idea! Have you ever tried this kind of plan with any other vegetables (any less obvious varieties)?
    Cheers!

JP

charles