self-study cultivating vegetables in a sustainable way

Community Community General Gardening Sowing and Growing self-study cultivating vegetables in a sustainable way

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Mapy 5 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Mapy
    Participant

Hello, a few months ago I continue your work and you have opened a new prism on the way of cultivation, I studied organic farming and I have read a lot about permaculture and natural agriculture, David Holgrem, Bill Mollison, Jhon Seymour, Fukuoka and the following reference it’s you
    I would like you to give me some advice to be able to dedicate myself to this wonderful task that is the care of the earth, at this moment I do not have a job and I would like to grow vegetables locally respecting these principles.

I have a small plot, 1 / 2ha, of land that they always said it would be impossible to get something, because it is extremely clay and compacted, but with the method you practice I see it possible.

My question is if with these 500 meters it would be possible to get vegetables for local sale to have a small income.

a cordial greeting
    Pillar

Neilfrazerm
    Participant

Hey Pillar, welcome. Where are you and what resources do you have? Do you have water / rain / supply of compost or manure?
    BR
    Neil

Mapy
    Participant

Thank you very much for the quick answer;
    I am in an area of the southeast of Spain, with low rainfall, dry and hot summers and cold winters, windy and with some frost, really is a somewhat discouraging description, the soil is compact and clayey, but I have been adding organic matter for two years and sowing forage and you start to see some result.
    Do you think it is possible under these conditions to achieve a minimum production for sustainable self-employment ?. I have the possibility of getting compost or mulch and manure and irrigation water.