Biodegradable Mulches

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Biodegradable Mulches

Tagged: 

This topic contains 15 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  sarah-off-grid 9 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

chris
    Participant

Hello – I’ve been really enjoying these books. I’ve been growing on plots for a few years with minimal till but am going to be going no till now.

Me and my wife are buying our first home and I plan on growing intensively on about 1/4 acre – we are in a costal town. There will be existing lawn in place and my question is around biodegradable mulches. Would it make sense long term to put down a layer of manure on the grass, cover with bio360 (non GMO corn starch based cover) or weed guard plus or newspaper then cover with compost? I want the soil to be in good shape in 1 years time.

Also in the first year of planting would you plant nitrogen fixing plants like beans, etc to get that soil ready for full production the following year?

Thanks in adavance.

Don Foley
    Participant

Hi Seegull,

Charles gives advise on this very thing in all his Books.
    The method I chose from the options he gives was to cover the area with 6″ of FYM or Horse Manure, the latter in my case, in late winter,and cover until sowing/planting time. This will kill off even the most hardy of weeds though not all. Every year thereafter you add a 2″ layer of Garden Compost or Manure.
    I don’t think you will get perfect soil in just 12 months, more likely 4/5 years, sooner or longer depending on the soil you are starting out with in the first place.
    So basically if you start with a 6″ layer of FYM you don’t need any other weed suppression.
    Don.

chris
    Participant