Birds rooting in no dig beds

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Birds rooting in no dig beds

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  macson 5 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Ionianc
    Participant

Hi all!

My no dig beds are loving this beautiful weather we’ve been having in Ireland for the past few weeks, but just over the last few days blackbirds and magpies have decided to destroy the edges of the beds in their search for worms. The beds have no wooden sides, so the edges are exposed. (This is my first year trying this method and it has worked incredibly well so far in discouraging slugs).

But I’m worried about the seedlings nearest the bed edges. Some have already been pecked or crushed by foraging birds. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to protect them?

Many thanks!

Converted no digger
    Participant

You would swear they had shovels. Have they not heard of no dig yet.

Its the same here in my garden but I have found other years the blackbirds only do it for a few weeks while feeding young.

I have most of my beds covered with crop cover. It can be reused for years. But they are getting at the ones that have no cover like potatoes and garlic. I just rake them back up every day.

Ionianc
    Participant

Ha ha! Yes, I think we need to enrol these birds in a no dig course! Thanks for the crop-cover tip. I’ll try that.

Di
    Participant

Yes, we’ve had blackbirds digging and disturbing our edges in search of worms. But it’s only been a problem when they are nesting. I was somewhat exasperated (sp?) last year but seem to have cracked it this year but tying up silver strips of ribbon (as in gift ties) at strategic places along the beds. I remove it after the blackbirds have fledged as i want birds in my garden under all other circumstances! It was a cheap solution and worked for me.

Ionianc
    Participant

Hi Di,