Combining Compost Heaps

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Combining Compost Heaps

Tagged: 

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  charles 5 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Post Man Pete
    Participant

Hi ,
    I’m a complete novice at this but have loved Charles’ you tube videos and the couple of books I’ve bought, read and reference.
    I have two compost heaps filled with grass clippings, kitchen waste, a bit of shredded paper, coffee grounds, mulched leaves, a bit of soil and the left overs of rotted horse manure. One heap is about six months old, has been turned once and is covered, the other is about three months old and uncovered. Both heaps core temperature is only a little above latent air temperature. The heaps are about 1.5m wide x 1.5m deep x 0.5m high. After looking up on the interweb I realise neither of my heaps is high enough….correct? My intention is to combine them into one large heap but which should go on top of which? Oldest, driest on top of newest wetter or the other way around?