Compost.

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Dutchy 5 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Graham
    Participant

I am in my second year of No Dig on an allotment which the previous tenants were following the same principles. However I have not really followed the compost dressing routine through a lack of compost. I did some beds last winter with FYM which was okay I think but probably insufficient quantities. We have a green waste recycling plant literally a few miles away. Having heard what some residents put in their green recycling bins I am concerned about using this compost. Dog excrement for example. The company carry out bacteria tests apparently but still reluctant. Any views on this please. Never seem to end up with a good compost from my own efforts.

Dino
    Participant

Hi, I’ve done beds with municipal compost, I wouldn’t think bacteria is an issue as they make sure it gets really hot, so if anything it is slightly less full of microbial life than is ideal. The worst thing with it was the small bits of plastic or glass but it was easy and cheap to get large quantities of and had no viable weed seeds because of the high temperatures during composting.

charles

Yes Dino the plastic bits are the worst issue, otherwise the compost is even and healthy.
    Graham, they take those heaps to temperatures as high as 80C, from frequent turning, so few bacteria survive.
    Lack of good bacteria is more an issue than presence of bad ones.
    Best of luck with finding enough.

Cherry
    Participant