Exciting but daunting new garden for a complete newbie apartment-dwelling lass!

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Exciting but daunting new garden for a complete newbie apartment-dwelling lass!

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Dieter 5 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

sarah
    Participant

Unbelievably I found the house of my dreams for an affordable rent!
    It includes a large lawn garden, with an area portioned off by a fence which was already used as a veggie plot, and a backgarden with lots of fruit plants.

I am now starting to plan (moving in in August!), and i could use some advice! I give details of the veggie plot (which is where i wills start from), and what i thought about below. Any suggestions help etc. very very welcome! I attach photos to help.

Veggie plot (the fenced area seen in the photos)
    – Lower Austria hardiness area 7b/8a (north east of Vienna)
    – already used as a veggie plot in the past
    – 17 m long x 5m wide
    – south north orientation
    – west boarder is a very high wall (neighbours)
    – south/north/east is a partially fenced (will fix the fence as first thing)
    – entrance from south closest to house
    – sloping (not steep but noticeable) from north to south
    – the northern most last 3 meters are shady due to tree coverage (a compost heap is there already)
    photos attached

Backgarden (not in photos for now- will deal with this later):
    3 cherry/sour cherry trees
    1/2 plum trees
    1 walnut
    1 apple
    on a steep incline
    more trees but still trying to figure out what they are!

Basic plan for veggie garden (see drawing attached):
    1. one long bed north-south against the west-wall (1m width- about 14m long)
    2. against the east fence 6 2.5m x1.5m beds with 1m path in between
    3. cover paths in wood chips? ( i like the look of it, and looking of flow maintenance ways 🙂 )