Goat Manure/Straw/Hay

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Goat Manure/Straw/Hay

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Kevin Anderson 5 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Becky Rutter
    Participant

Hello,
    I’m completely new to no dig and in fact growing anything! I plan on cultivating an area of field so am starting from scratch. I have goats who are bedded on straw and a plentiful supply of horse manure also, but the horses are bedded on wood shavings.
    Can I spread a layer of week old goat manure/straw on the area I want to cultivate and then cover for the winter? Will this work? I have only just started my compost so it won’t be ready in time to get started for next year.
    Also does hay count as green content for compost heaps? I can get hold of quite a lot of wasted hay from the stables.
    I think I have made a mistake by layering goat manure/straw and leaves as I thought leaves counted as green waste :/
    Any advice is most welcome
    Thank you!!

charles

Becky, I would stack the fresh manure and buy some compost for mulching now.
    Fresh manure well stacked now, in good proportions, should heat and could be ready my May.
    Leaves can be green or brown depending what leaf they are and whether green or brown in colour… tree leaves November are mostly ‘brown’.
    Hay is maybe 70% brown.

Christine
    Participant

Hi Becky if it makes you feel any better I did exactly the same! spread horse manure on my beds before i realised it was better to let it rot 1st.
    I got some great tips for managing manure (see “dodgy manure” thread) and the stuff I stacked (and have turned twice) looks like it is ready. Certainly there is no smell from it. I think if you “compost” the manure now it may well be ready for spring.
    Even if it isn’t quite there you can be happily smug that you have a pile of good stuff waiting for you for next autumn.