how much manure is too much?

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground how much manure is too much?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  seedpod 14 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

seedpod

Hi All, newbie here and to no dig growing.Ive been a digger and rotovator for yonks!
    My plot which when tested last year with a cheap PH soil testing kit and using samples from all over the field came up as around 6.5. The soil is clay over sand . I am near the sea.Last year after many years of permanent pasture and no fertilizer only calcified seaweed, quite large amounts of rotted horse manure were top dressed before ploughing.Large means around one tractor bucket load per (guess)6 sq.mtr ish!!guess again ,one tractor load = about ten medium barrow loads.
    A central grass path was added and one half was top dressed again with muck again and rotovated in.This side took our drought last year quite well, the other half baked hard as you would expect from the soil. I have an almost unexhaustable supply of well rotted and I wanted to try the no dig method this year on the half plot that was ploughed after mucking (one lot).So, coming to my question ,is there a limit to how much muck can be added every year and what will this do to the already slightly acid PH ? I do have compost in the making but no where near the amount I would need.
    thanks, seedpod, Norfolk

charles