Making raised beds, control of existing weeds

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Making raised beds, control of existing weeds

This topic contains 13 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  charles 6 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

kentish towner
    Participant

Early next spring I am planning to install raised beds 15cm high in my garden, where I have been growing for 4 years. It has perennial weeds. Should I simply dig them out and lay the new beds directly on the existing soil or onto a draining weed barrier.
    Would John Innes topsoil be a good choice to fill the beds

Don Foley
    Participant

Hi Kentish Towner,

The answer to your question can be found here:
    http://www.charlesdowding.co.uk/no-dig-growing/no-dig-growing-preparation/.
    Basically, don’t bother with the weed barrier and follow Charles’s advise in the above article.

Don.

charles

Thanks Don, that is it exactly. And never bury a weed barrier unless its cardboard.

Concetta Parsons
    Participant

Great information. Thanks for sharing

ElizaD
    Participant

Hello Charles and all

The last three raised beds I put in last year (wooden sides, 6″ deep) were placed over grass and existing flower borders. I cleared what I thought were most of the perennial flowers and some shrubs but now ornamental alliums are springing up in two of the beds and will require removal.

My question is this. If I just remove the top growth will they eventually just give up coming up? I dug out as many as I could find before placing the new beds but you know what bulbs are like. I do not want to try digging them out again now.