New Asparagus Bed – preparation and size/ no. of plants?

Community Community General Gardening Vegetables New Asparagus Bed – preparation and size/ no. of plants?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Stringfellow 11 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Stringfellow
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am the proud owner of a new allotment (9x17metres) and would love to get some asparagus in.

Having enjoyed reading three of Charles’ books I’m aware that this is a fairly long-term undertaking. Cleaning the soil thoroughly is emphasised and I understand why, so here’s my dilema: Horsetail……..yep, and there is alot of it :-( I am fairly new to this growing food thing and, whislt I’m not afraid of some hard graft, I’m concerned that I may be fighting a losing battle and I’m scared it might demoralise and put me off the whole idea altogether.

How long should I consider cleansing the soil before planting in early spring and what process should I follow? Dig over removing as much as possible and then mulch with 5-6″ compost pulling any out that then comes thru? Should I even consider leaving planting until another year, this coming spring?

Following on from this, I would be growing asparagus just for two – what size of plot square/ no. of plants would be roughly enough to give us a good taste each year – I have plenty of space?

Many thanks for any help offered – I’m keen, but this horsetail stuff is summit else and on a bad day seems overwhelming :-(

Charles, I really ‘no-dig’ your books :-)

Thanks,

Tris

charles

Hello Tris, you have asked a big question… with no simple answer. If doing as you suggest, digging to remove all roots seen and then composting, for planting next spring, you will need to pull horsetail regularly for the life of the asparagus plants, even though it will be somewhat (how much I don’t know) weaker than at present.