No dig gardening in AZ, Zone 8a

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground No dig gardening in AZ, Zone 8a

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  PetraHildegarde 5 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

PetraHildegarde
    Participant

I just bought an irrigated farm in SouthEast Arizona and I am studying up on creating a ‘no-dig’ vegetable and flower garden around the house. Local organic farmers tell me “I have to dig once” to “beds have to be 12-18″ high” to “you will never get rid of the bermuda grass”. I would be very grateful for any input. My other main concern is the heat during the summer. Average temp in May are 88, in June/July/August in the upper 90’s and September 91 degrees.
    I am planning on veggies along with a berry patch of strawberry, raspberries and blackberries and later a fruit orchard. My final goal is to supply most of my own vegetables and fruit for a year round supply.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Christine
    Participant

very jealous of that heat!! wouldn’t worry about digging but I would definitely put down cardboard 1st even if you’re putting down a thick layer of compost. There was lots of chat on the forum a few months ago about no dig being great for reduced watering so I feel it may help with your summer season.
    I have been following Charles for a year and have given up listening to all the wisdom you get from other gardeners and garden centre staff. Lots of people seem to have a great desire to make extra work and complications for your garden!
    My other bit of advise is start making your compost now, you’ll never have enough!!

PetraHildegarde
    Participant