Onions from seed

Community Community General Gardening Vegetables Onions from seed

This topic contains 16 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Shaun Pearce 7 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Ginamccon

This is my first year of growing onions from seed. I plan on multi sown modules as suggested in your books. Can I ask how you propagate yours? I’ve read 10-16oC for germination then don’t let then go over 13oC when through as more prone to bolting. Do you leave your on a gentle bottom heat in a cold greenhouse when through? As I imagine this very cold weather stressing them. Thanks in advance.

charles

Your figures are all good and yes I normally germinate them with gentle bottom heat, the thermostat set on 16-18C which means the compost temperature is about right, a little lower as some warmth is lost before reaching the modules. But one can never be that precise and these figures are to give an idea rather than to be followed slavishly, so don’t worry if temperatures vary, as they do, and your seeds will certainly appreciate some warmth in the coming days.

OR you could wait and sow them as late as mid February and in view of conditions now I would recommend that, and the same for lettuce and beetroot. Most worthwhile sowings undercover at the moment (in my opinion!) are spinach and peas for shoots.

Stringfellow
    Participant

This is helpful as I am hoping to do the same as Ginamccon this season re: onion sowing.

I wondered if the multi-module sowing method is okay for the variety Kelsae – in that, they have the potential to grow very large? Are six seeds per module still advisable/ okay?

Shallots are also on the list (perhaps Zebrune) and I am unsure about module sowing and final planting spacing. 2-4 seeds per module will create 2-4 shallot bulbs, spacing the clumps at 25cm x 25cm? Apologies if this is a basic question!

Many thanks,

Tris

Ginamccon