Problems with Voles, Topillos, Gofers , Microtis avarlis.

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Problems with Voles, Topillos, Gofers , Microtis avarlis.

This topic contains 11 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Cleansweep 6 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Deborah
    Participant

Hi Charles,
    I am excited to get to No Dig, I arrive via Lawrence Hills, Geoff Hamilton, Carol Klein, Joy Larkcom, and others, always organic of course, but an exciting lifelong journey. I have been gardening in Galicia, North Spain for seven years now, No Walk mulched raised beds, no turning the soil. Wet winters, hot dry summers. But there is a problem here and I have been “wiggling” the soil a bit with a big border fork, because of the perennial problem of Mole rats, (Topillos, Gofers, Microtis avarlis,) a destructive burrowing blind rodent that does not exist in UK. So having found your site Charles, I am embarking this year on truly no dig to see what happens.

My question is, as you have many people following and commenting on your site, and Steph´s Fbook page too, who are from America and the continent, where these creatures are a plague, I am keen to find out whether we too can do No Dig. All the locals, and the posher ecological folk etc, say its “Not Possible” you must dig and dig to disturb their burrows. I can´t think it can be worse than it already is , and you learn to hurriedly lift your parsnips and store in sand if they start on them; to lift leeks from the line they seem to be munching through etc. And plant a bit more than you need!

There is nothing that I can find about No Dig and Mole Rats on the internet.

charles

Thanks Deborah and I am so glad we do not have mole rats/gofers.
    I know that Eliot Coleman does in Maine USA, but I did not know they are in Europe too. His writing has some pointers to catching/control, he is min till rather than no dig, I believe.