Propagating Sturon Onion seed for Overwintering

Community Community General Gardening Sowing and Growing Propagating Sturon Onion seed for Overwintering

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  charles 11 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

bluetempest2

Charles, I have taken your advice on ordering Sturon Obion seed from real seeds and as a novice I wouldn’t mind a few tips if possible on growing them for over wintering crop as I have an un heated green house but a south east facing conservatory as I believe these require some warmth in setting them off to a good start.
    I also found that last years whilst planting them on an organic farm in Pembrokeshire the overwintering sets had a miserable harvest this year with approx 50 percent non germination rate which has pushed me to look at seeds rather than sets.
    I have read your books but can’t find any tips.
    Regards
    Mick

charles

I used to be a fan of overwintering onions until I figured they were probably hosting the mildew which almost wiped out my spring planted and sown onions in 2005-8. Since then I stopped sowing onions in the last week of August (usually Senshyu in fact) and just sowed them in February in the greenhouse, or planted sets late March to early April. This year’s spring sown and planted onions are mostly good apart from one variety (Marco) which appears susceptible to mildew.

To overwinter, do not sow before August 23rd or they risk bolting next spring. Before 31st gives them time to make plants for setting out in late September. Spring onions use the same dates, White Lisbon is good. Onions do not germinate well in temperatures consistently over 20C, so keep the trays out of sunlight until you see green shoots.

peter.peterclarke
    Participant