Sawdust Compost?

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Sawdust Compost?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  greengene 5 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

JustinH
    Participant

Hi Charles, I am new to the no dig method of gardening. After purchasing 30 acres to just find out it is extremely rocky, i discovered your youtube videos and found them encouraging. So the question is I have unlimited supply from a local sawmill of well rotted sawdust, this sawdust is said to be “10 years old and starting to turn back into dirt”. Would this be a good foundation to start a no dig garden on then top it with about 3 inches or so of horse manure compost that i collect from my horses? Thanks Please help!!

charles

Lucky you Justin, that old sawdust sounds an excellent mulch, especially with the horse-manure compost on top.
    Your rocks won’t go away but they will trouble you less with no dig.

JustinH
    Participant

So I checked the sawdust today and this photo was what it looked like. Does it look decomposed enough to use for this application?

Stringfellow
    Participant

I would Justin, looks like good stuff. You’re gonna need a lot of sawdust for 30 acres! Best of luck with it.

charles

I agree with Stringfellow, it’s lovely

Jacob Lockcuff
    Participant

I’m excited to see the progress of this. You don’t see many people doing no dig farms as big as 30 acres! Good luck

JustinH
    Participant

Oh Jacob! No i was just saying out of 30 acres its all to rocky to use lol. I’m going to do a no dig garden about 1 acre which is will be a trial garden to see how it goes. If i can get everything to work well i will add to it every year intil i get the size i want for the future.Defiantly not doing a full 30 acre garden lol.

Neilfrazerm
    Participant

Hi Jacob, I’ve been there and it works…