Seed saving

This topic contains 12 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  charles 6 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Jane Wilding

Hi all,
    I’ve recently joined the site and am finding it very interesting. I’d like to encourage all gardeners to save their own seed – I’ve been doing it for a couple of years now and I’m building up the number of varieties that I save myself – it’s not hard and it means that you end up with locally adapted varieties and of course don’t have to buy new seed every year. There’s a lot of good advice on the Real Seeds site, where they advocate saving seed instead of buying from them every year! In addition to this, I imagine most gardeners are now familiar with the threat of the new EU seed law (www.permaculture.co.uk/…/eu-seed-law-update-why-grow-heritage-seed and many other sites) and we can counter this by keeping the varieties we like, setting up local seed groups, swapping with other gardeners and supporting small seed companies (and not buying F1 varieties which are either sterile or do not breed true).
    Sorry for the long post! Keep up all the interesting topics and happy gardening.
    Jane

charles

Hi Jane, thanks for this post and keep up the good seed saving.

I save broad beans, peas, some tomato, lettuce and a few oriental leaves. I do like some F1 hybrids!

What other vegetables have you saved successfully? Are you using a big area for it? – for example some say that you need a few plants of each to ensure genetic variation, say twelve beetroot.
    Are you managing to save squash even with different varieties?

(makes a change for me to ask questions here!)

Jane Wilding