Seed trays & Modules

Community Community General Gardening Sowing and Growing Seed trays & Modules

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  charles 13 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

charles

Firstly – a huge thanks to Charles for the inspiration that his books have brought me. Finally, I think I’ve stumbled upon a method of gardening that appeals not just to my wish to be organic, but also one which actually makes perfect sense! Now, as a complete beginner, I have a lot to learn and probably a lot of very simple questions to ask ;)

Some background: We’re living in Central Italy with a particularly nice climate – one with real seasons. We reach the 40s on the hottest summer days but still have snow in the winter and temperatures down to the -5 region. We’ve plenty of space to develop our ‘Orto’ (Vegetable Garden) and one of our first projects was actually constructing a polytunnel. We went down this route since all of our neighbours have one and they’re obviously a source of valuable information, but we’d like to show them that there’s more to life than rotovating and chemical fertilizers!

We’ve begun germinating various plants in seed trays (rocket (salad & sky), spinach (medania) etc) but I’m slightly confused by some information in the books. For example, it suggests that 4 or 5 seeds per module is a good starting point. At another part of the book, there’s a suggestion that it’s actually more efficient to sow into seed trays and ‘prick out’ into modules. When pricking out, should it be one plant of these types per module or 4 or 5? Conversely, if sowing into modules, should we be thinning them out to 1 plant or leaving them as a clump? I said I had some very basic questions ;) All of these plants are destined for the polytunnel beds initally since there’s a lot of landscaping to do outside before we can do anything much there.

Thanks in advance – Andy

charles