Should I poke thousands of holes in my plastic ?

Community Community No dig gardening Preparing the ground Should I poke thousands of holes in my plastic ?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  jackie 6 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Before putting green compost under my plastic sheets

should I poke hundreds of holes through my plastic sheet

so that the rain can get through ?

I can make some kind of wooden plate with small nails
    and poke and poke, it will be fast and easy.

Stringfellow
    Participant

Hi Ray,

I have been mulching with black plastic for a few months now to weaken rampant horsetail and bindweed on my plot. These particular weeds are so strong and persistent (particularly horsetail) that they will make a bee line for any daylight at all. So, if you are mulching to knock back weeds, depending on which ones you are dealing with, punching holes in your mulch sheeting may counteract the very thing that you are trying to do.

If your motivations are otherwise, ignore what I have said! Good luck!

compostpope
    Participant

Hello again Ray

Perhaps you could describe the soil you are planning to cover with compost and black plastic?

Is it covered with weeds? What type? Is it very dry at the moment or wet?
    What vegetables are you planning to plant and when will you plant them?

Compostpope

So lucky I am yes, 3 acres.
    My soil is so dry now that I cannot even test the drainage.
    My spade broke when I tried to make a hole. But people say it is normal
    because no rain at all for almost two months.

I did some testing of the soil last spring and it seems to me that it is
    between clay and sand because I can make sausages that hold together almost.
    They somehow fall apart but not totally.

I tested the ph to be about 6.5 which should be fine for all the berries I want to plant this fall.