Soil warmth

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Leif 9 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Leif
    Participant

I hope people don’t mind a bit of a ramble. Hopefully it will illicit informative comment.

I am fairly new to growing in beds, having started three years ago after many years of container growing, and this year I sowed seed in beds – clay soil with lots of compost – with and without a cold frame on top, and in containers on a path against a south facing wall. The carrot under the coldframe appeared in a week. I was surprised that the carrot in the container did the same. The carrot in the uncovered beds has yet to appear. The spring onion and Pak Choi in containers, and modules under the coldframe germinated very quickly. I know the books say that cloches warm soil, but I’m surprised how effective they are. I’m also surprised by the effect of the path and wall. Next year I will start seed under a coldframe in February. I guess the only caveat is that some sun is needed.

I think I will order another coldframe . I have a glass and aluminium one. I have been pondering a greenhouse purchase, but coldframes do allow the cover to be moved around the garden, as crops are rotated, whereas a grrenhouse is fixed. I suppose for allotments a coldframe is risky since it can be stolen easily.

Incidentally I am near Basingstoke, so not the warmest part of the country, but not the coldest either.

Rhys
    Participant

Leif

I’ve noticed a very big difference this year between mid-March sowings and early April sowings, irrespective of whether I’ve sown in the soil, sown in modules in an outdoor lean-to mini-greenhouse or whether I’ve done it in unheated propagators indoors with lids on.

Beetroot:
    Boltardy sown 16/3 indoors in modules – germination time: 12 – 16 days;
    Boltardy sown 24/3 in a sunny area of soil – germination time 13 – 18 days+ (still a few gaps in the row);