Where to sow modules without a greenhouse?

Community Community General Gardening Sowing and Growing Where to sow modules without a greenhouse?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Antipodes 6 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Antipodes
    Participant

Hello to all, I have been growing veg for 10 years but this is the first year I am trying Charles’ methods as much as possible. I have already sown indoors my tomatoes and peppers, that don’t mind being next to the windows in the house. But I have also sown peas, onions, beets and chard. These germinated but are very leggy. As I have no greenhouse or coldframe, I have them near a window in the garage. If they are inside, it’s too hot, but where they are, I don’t think there is really enough light.
    I am at a loss as to where to put them. And I want to follow them up with trays of spring salad, spinach etc. Can anyone suggest where I should try to do my sowing? I have a couple of sheds/outbuildings with windows but the light input is not excellent. Any type of other structure I could try? I am in a fairly mild but damp climate. I am so pleased that the modules have germinated but As the seedlings are really too tall, I am worried that they will not grow succcessfully now 🙁
    Thanks for any help anyone can suggest.

Neilfrazerm
    Participant

Depending on whether you can spend some cash on your hobby or not, have a look at LED grow lights.
    I use IKEA Vaxer (2 storey) grow light set-up and have had seedlings growing in a cool room with the lights on a timer giving them 14 hours light a day. Here is a link… http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/products/indoor-gardening/
    The initial cost is quite high, but once you have them they should last for many years.

charles

Antipodes, this subject is already much discussed, see my latest update for March, where I quote Penny (pmshrink) on her propagation methods, since they are so different.