White Rust on brassicas

Community Community Garden Problems Disease White Rust on brassicas

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  charles 7 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Cristal
    Participant

Hi there, I am very new to gardening and got my first allotment in the spring. I have some grown some brassicas and they appear to have white rust – I have removed most of the infected leaves and tried spraying with some neem oil spray but to little avail. The worst affected is the kale. Is there anything I can do and also is the kale safe to eat – I wondered if maybe the leaves that look ok could still have the spores on them. Many Thanks

charles

Hello Cristal, it sounds like a powdery mildew, white spores, nothing to worry about especially. You should have some new and healthier leaves.
    The ones with mildew are beginning to decay so although you could eat them, the flavour will have gone.
    I think if you can feed your soil with compost of any kind inc. well decomposed manure, around the kale, it will grow healthier leaves.

RandA
    Participant

I had this early on this year and took off all the affected leaves and then they all grew and are still growing really well in there compost, so don’t worry like Charles says
    Ali

Cristal
    Participant

Many Thanks for the replies. I’m quite sure it is white rust (Albugo candida) as the leaves are blistered and the new growth is also infected and deformed.
    Before I knew what it was we ate the least affected leaves and both times I experienced a low grade allergic reaction – itchy mouth, fatigue – perhaps my system was reacting to the mold? I have bought some hydrogen peroxide and will see if washing the leaves in a dilute solution will help. I have removed all affected leaves and just waiting to see if the plants recover. Other than rotating the crop next year if there any thing I can do to prevent it reoccuring? Cristal

ElizaD