Yacon

This topic contains 11 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  bluebell 8 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

bluebell
    Participant

Hi Charles

From your photos you appear to have just sat your Yacon on top of compost? Having just taken delivery of my first batch I am now wondering if I was wrong to bury them in compost?

Also how damp do you keep them?

Thanks

Jan

charles

Hello Jan, well its my first attempt at keeping yacon buds alive over winter, so I am no expert. 
    Sorry the photo misleads a bit as I subsequently covered the buds with compost, I photographed them before so that one can see the buds. Covering with compost is fine.

As for dampness, not too wet is my guideline for wintering roots and plants generally, until March or so. 

jjat8cv
    Participant

This is my second year of growing yacon. I overwintered the buds in a large bucket of moist compost in the polytunnel and they sprouted in the spring without a problem. My yacon have never grown above four feet but the tubers have still been enormous. My biggest problem was what to do with them, how to eat them, as there were so many. Has Steph any ideas?

charles

Good results you have and, like you, I am unsure of how to eat it. Mostly raw so far as a snack, for which the sweetness is appealing, almost like a fruit. Steph has not done a yacon dish yet, I put some in a stew and it was tasty, with other veg.

bluebell
    Participant

My Yacon has done rather well over winter and is now starting to get pot bound. Im assuming that they are as tender as things like tomato and so cannot go out till late May?
    If so should I pot in to bigger container for the next 6 weeks? This will not be easy as space is at a premium this time of year!

charles

Yes it is tender though I am unsure if there is slight frost tolerance, If you have enough plants, why not pop a couple out to see? Otherwise its potting on…

bluebell
    Participant